Poomsae or Pumse Pyongwon is an advanced poomsae so its degree of complexity or difficulty is greater compared to the initial poomsaes. As we have said before, the poomsaes contain a spiritual meaning and the Pyongwon poomsae is no exception.

    The meaning of  Poomsae or Pumse Pyongwon is “plain” and according to several Taekwondo coaches it represents balance and peace in a spiritual way.


    Poomsaes are movements planned sequentially (one movement followed by another), these movements or actions are mostly technical-physical actions of attacks, defenses and blocks or dodges that can work against one or more opponents. Poomsae are usually practiced in a demonstrative way, something very similar to the famous kata of Japanese karate. Poomsaes also contain various meanings that are related to nature, mental states of concentration, strength, endurance, etc.


    Which movements take place in the Poomsae Pyongwon?

    In this poomsae there are 33 movements that are mostly blow and kick actions, these 33 offensive and defensive movements are performed in 25 sequences. Some outstanding movements in sequence is the combination of the Ap chagui kicks to then move on to Yop chagui, these chain movements are of great visual appeal and are useful in combat causing great damage to the opponent. Other stronger joints such as the elbow are also used in the Palkup dollyo chigui technique.


    • Sequences: 27
    • Movements: 35

    What would be the sequence scheme?

    Within martial arts and especially in Asia, respect and inclination are signs of respect that can never be lacking at the beginning and at the conclusion of a poomsae, also in routine training. The poomsae pyongwon is executed with strong movements of high impact due to the fact that several of them are produced by the hardest parts of the human body (heel and elbows). We will make a list of the sequences and the movements explaining its development within the Pyongwon poomsae.


    • Sequence 1 (Naranji sogui – Gechio are maki): This is the movement that technically opens the poomsae, Gechio are maki is a defensive and focused position where the arms are stretched around the waist.
    • Sequence 2 (Naranji sogui – Tong milgui Chumbi): This is a position where the arms are «L» shaped with a slight inclination towards the center.
    • Sequence 3 (Tuit Kubi – Jansonnal are maki): in this offensive position the right arm is tilted 45 ° towards the palm extended while the left fist rests next to the belt and the arm is slightly pulled back.
    • Sequence 4 (Tuit Kubi – Jansonnal montong bakat maki): Make a movement to the left side, the right arm is attached to the belt in the form of a fist with the arm slightly drawn up while the left arm is in the shape of an «L» with a Slight downward tilt, fingers point to ceiling.
    • Sequence 5 (Ap kubi sogui – Palkup ollyo chigui): Position the left foot advanced and flexes moderately while the right (this back) works this semi-flexed the right shoulder is slightly above 90 ° while the forearm is flexed reaching to touch the fist with your ear. The left arm remains a little tucked up.
    • Sequence 6 (Ap chagui): This movement is a right side front kick made with the right foot. Later the Yop shagui movement is continued, with the same leg that the previous kick was executed, this will serve as support while the kick will be made with the left leg.
    • Sequence 7 (Tuit kubi- Sonnal montong maki): Here the defensive position is rejoined with a clockwise direction, the right hand is in the shape of an «L» with a subtle upward tilt and fingers extended. The left arm is resting next to the torso. Then it is changed to the circle of arms position, exerting a circular movement to end with a positioning of a Sonnal are maki.
    • Sequence 8 (Chuchum sogui – An palmok goduro olgul yop maki): This position is performed with the right arm positioned in an “L” shape laterally (the fist points towards the ceiling) while the right arm is in the form of side hook next to the chest.
    • Sequence 9 (Chuchum sogui – Dangkio dung chumok apechigui): This offensive movement throws a hammer-shaped fist with the right arm while the left is placed by the right arm.
    • Sequence 10 (Chuchum sogui – Dangkio dung chumok apechigui / KIAP): It is the same movement as above, only reversed, the left arm throws the hammer-shaped fist and the right arm is placed underneath.
    • Sequence 11 (Ap koa sogui – Mohe chigui): you pick up your elbows at shoulder height to hit your surroundings with your elbows, your right leg crosses with your left.
    • Sequence 12 (Chum chum sogui – Gechio Santul maki): in this movement the forearms are stretched upwards (the fist faces the ceiling) and the parallel legs are semi-flexed.
    • Sequence 13 (Jakdari sogui- Kumgang maki): This position stands on the left foot while the right (raised off the ground) lies on the right. The left arm goes through the front of the head and the right arm is stretched out at a 45 ° angle pointing towards the ground.
    • Sequence 14 (Jakdari sogui – Chagun dol chogui): Starting from the previous position, the feet maintain their location, the right arm acquires a hook shape and is in front of the stomach, while the left is picked up on one side.
    • Sequence 15-16-17 (Yop chagui): Starts with a side kick that kicks with the right foot to the left side. Then the same movements of the sequences 5, 6 and 7 described above continue, the only difference is that the blows and kicks are made from the right side, so the arms and legs must be used in a contrary way to the previous sequences.
    • Sequences 17-18-19 and 20: They are the same movements as sequences 5,6 and 7. It begins with the position Ap kubi sogui and ends with a circle of arms. All of these are directed to the practitioner’s left.
    • The sequences 21-22-23-24-25: It opens with a position in Mohe chigui, and ends with a kick Yop chagui. They are the same movements of the sequence 11-12-13-14 only directed from the opposite side.


    To end in the second movement of sequence 25 with a position Ap kubi sogui – Montong piochok palkup chigui. In this movement, the athlete positions his body to his left side, tilts his left foot and semi-flexes it while the right foot serves as support and is subtly flexed. A kind of blow is made with the elbow leaving it in the hook position (right arm) while the left palm touches your right elbow.


    The Superior Poomsaes

    We have 9 Superior  Poomsaes. These poomsaes are those required by the WT Taekwondo Federation for promotion to DAN degrees.

    1. Poomsae Koryo
    2. Poomsae Kumgang
    3. Poomsae Taebek
    4. Poomsae Pyongwon
    5. Poomsae Sypcchin
    6. Poomsae Chitae
    7. Poomsae Chungkwon
    8. Poomsae Jansu
    9. Poomsae IIyo

    👉🏼👉🏼 Share this 💚💚🙏🏻🙏🏻:

    Por admin

    Deja una respuesta

    Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *