The 5th pumse or pommsae TAEGUK OH CHANG prepares for the change of grade from blue belt to brown or Blue / Brown belt.

    Let’s first take a brief look at the meaning of Poomsae, also known as Pumse.Ite mentions the mode and techniques performed in taekwondo, with the aim of reproducing attacks and defense movements that are carried out by line-controlled movements. Those movements are expressing through symbols, each one of them in a different way.


    Referring to the Poomsae Taeguk Oh Chang is the representation of the principle «Seon» and means «wind». It is made up of three lines, called a trigram, made up of one split line and another two complete lines.

    The fifth pumse or Poomsae TAEGUK OH CHANG symbolizes strength, flexibility and humility. It also means how the student evolves.


    What movements take place in the Taeguk Oh Chang poomsae?

    This poomsae does not have short positions, called ap sogui. It stands out for having movements such as: yop chagui and me chumok; as well as palkup piochok chigui and dung chumok ap chigui. It is recommended to maintain good control and / or mastery of the positions, especially when finishing, since it must end where the poomsae started.

    In the poomsae Taeguk Oh Chang it is necessary that if you want to do it you pay special attention to the rhythm of the movements as well as the power of the techniques. The quality of the ap and yop chaguis must be taken into account, as they are fundamental kicks.


    This type of poomsae is performed for the passing of the degree to the green belt, that is, it must be a compulsory poomsae for those who are completing the green belt stage, predecessor of the orange.


    • Sequences: 20
    • Movements: 32

    What would be the sequence scheme?

    Let us remember that each poomsae begins and ends with a greeting with the aim of transmitting respect through a kind of veneration, where the torso and head must be bowed, slide the hands down the thigh and fix the gaze for a few seconds on the feet. These movements and sequences, in total 20, are generally ideal for showing power. Below we will explain each of the sequences in detail for a higher level of understanding:

    Sequence 1 (Ap kubi sogui – Are maki): perform the long front position, which will be twice the length of the shoulders. The rear leg will be stretched, sixty percent of the weight will go on the front leg while forty percent corresponds to the rear leg. Now run Are maki, this being one of the most basic movements in taekwondo, also known as defense down. It begins by carrying one of the arms to the opposite shoulder, in this case moving the left arm, it is important to take into account that the base of the hand that was mobilized must touch the shoulder without any force on any part of the body, since it’s just a preparation move. Then the hip must be turned, while the other arm is slightly flexed in front of us. Then the movement must be carried out, which consists of lowering the fist on the right shoulder and running down with force, remember to keep the elbow close to the body while lowering the hand, since it guarantees that the distance between the leg and the arm is correct.


    Sequence 2 (Uen sogui – Me chumok neryo yop chigui): place your feet in an L shape, to the left. Then strike with the closed left fist, which will be an attack, and perform a linear movement.

    Sequence 3 (Ap kubi sogui – Are maki): perform a long step with the right leg, the forward leg should be flexed while the back leg should be straight. Next, to execute Are maki, you must make a low stop with the right forearm, in the form of a semicircular movement outward, which goes from the opposite shoulder to below the waist. Taking into account that the forearm is one fist away from the waist.

    Sequence 4 (Orun Sogui – Me chumok neryo yop chigui): L-feet to the right. Perform punch with the right fist.

    Sequence 5 (Ap kubi sogui – Dubong montong maki): long front position, putting forward left foot. Make defense, first with the left arm and then with the right.

    Sequence 6 (Ap chagui / Ap kubi sogui – Dung chumok apechigui / Ap kubi sogui – Montong an maki): execute a front kick with the right leg. Perform the front combat base position and strike with the back of the fist directly at the level of the face frontally with the right arm. Perform the position widely, taking the width of the shoulders as a reference. Bring the right leg to the middle.

    Sequence 7 (Ap chagui / Ap kubi sogui – Dung chumok apechigui / Ap kubi sogui – Montong an maki): repeat the previous sequence but with opposite legs and arms.

    Sequence 8 (Ap kubi sogui – Dung chumok apechigui): perform a wide position, keeping the width of the shoulders. With the right foot in front. Move the right arm forward as well, at a ninety degree angle.

    Sequence 9 (Tuit kubi – Jansonnal montong bakat maki): maintain a distance between the front leg (right) and the rear leg (left) which must be one step. Meanwhile, the knees should be flexed. Then make defense to the middle, bringing the left hand stretched at shoulder height; while, the fist of the right hand remains closed at the height of the hip.

    Sequence 10 (Ap kubi sogui – Palkup dollyo chigui): perform the base position, stretching the left foot and strike with the right elbow.

    Sequence 11 (Tuit kubi – Jansonnal montong bakat maki): repeat sequence number nine but with opposite arm and leg, and to the left side.


    Sequence 12 (Ap kubi sogui – Palkup dollyo chigui): repeat sequence number ten but with opposite arms and legs.

    Sequence 13 (Ap kubi sogui – Are maki / Ap kubi sogui – Montong an maki): Perform a long step, with the left leg forward and the knee bent; the back leg should be kept straight. Execute the low defense with the right hand.

    Sequence 14 (Ap chagui / Ap kubi sogui – Are maki / Ap kubi sogui – Montong an maki): do a front kick with the right leg. Perform long forward position with the same foot with which the kick was executed. Bring down the left hand to make the defense. Keep the same leg forward (right) and execute a front blow with the left arm.

    Sequence 15 (Ap kubi sogui – Olgul maki): take a long step to the right with the left leg. Perform high defense, with the left forearm.

    Sequence 16 (Yop chagui / Ap kubi sogui – Montong piochok palkup chigui): kick sideways with the right leg. Then do a long front position with the same leg with which you performed the previous kick. Make a defensive closure with the left arm horizontally parallel to the chest.

    Sequence 17 (Ap kubi sogui – Montong piochok palkup chigui): Perform the last two previous movements, belonging to sequence sixteen, but this time with opposite arms and legs; and to the left side.

    Sequence 18 (Yop chagui / Ap kubi sogui – Montong piochok palkup chigui): Same as sequence number sixteen but to the left side.

    Sequence 19 (Ap kubi sogui – Are maki / Ap kubi sogui – Montong an maki): repeat sequence number thirteen.

    Sequence 20 (Ap chagui / Tuit koa sogui – Dung chumok apechigui – KIAP): execute kick with the right leg. Cross your legs placing the left behind. Execute blow with the back of the fist towards the face from the front. End with the KIAP shout and return to the preparatory position.


       The Taeguk Poomsaes

    1. TAEGUK IL CHANG: Light and sky. Greatness
    2. TAEGUK I CHANG: Joy and serenity.
    3. TAEGUK SAM CHANG: Fire and sun.
    4. TAEGUK SAH CHANG: Thunder. Courage
    5. TAEGUK OH CHANG: Represents Wind. Flexibility.
    6. TAEGUK YOUK CHANG: Represents Water. Fluency
    7. TAEGUK CHILK CHANG: Represents Summit and mountain. Balance
    8. TAEGUK PAL CHANG: Represents Origin of life. Yin and Earth.


    👉🏼👉🏼 Share this 💚💚🙏🏻🙏🏻:

    Por admin

    Deja una respuesta

    Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *