TAEKwondo poomsaes

    The POOMSAE TAEGUK IL CHANG the first of the poomsaes in taekwondo.

    The word Poomsae, also known as «Pumse«, has the meaning of form.

    It could be said that in taekwondo, the poomsaes represent the union of movements that symbolize attacks and defenses that are made based on a line. These displacements are intended to simulate attacks and forms of protection, either against one or more aggressors.

    TAEGUK IL CHANG is KEON = Heaven and Light (Powerful, Masculine, Pure Yang).


    Other meanings: Heaven, South, Father

    Nowadays, during the taekwondo competitions, the poomsaes technique is carefully evaluated with the objective of making an assessment of the execution of the movements that encompasses the aesthetic but also the level of balance and coordination.

    Each of the 17 Poomsae are associated with a symbol of Chinese origin made up of eight trigrams, using three lines, arranged one above the other, and alternating between some complete and others separated.

    This discipline of Korean origin focuses on the development of a philosophy that poses balance, which is why the Taeguk mean Yin and Yang but in constant motion, it also denotes the beginning of things.

    In this article we will present the practical elements to consider in order to perform the first poomsae called Taeguk il chang.

    Formed by 18 sequences of movements shows us the beginning of TAEGUK.

    It uses actions from Keon of Palgwe, which is the main Gwe of the 64 Gwes of the Keon change book.

    Represents Heaven and Light. Both elements provide growth in all existing things since Kon or Keon is the most important of all existing things about theories and the source of creation.

    The Kon or Keon Gwe is the Gwe l is comparable to a dragon that flies through the sky and lives on Earth.


    In the articulation of the Poomsae we must adapt Goki (walking), Sogui (situation) and Ap Sogui.

    This pumse or poomsae in the first and is necessary for the change of grade from white belt to yellow or white / yellow belt. It tries to get the student to know the basic greetings as well as the directions.

    Which movements are developed in the poomsae Taeguk il chang?

    TAEGUK IL CHANG has eighteen sequences and twenty movements. Of which twelve positions correspond to the Ap Sogui technique which represents the normal step with the weight at 50% (short natural position) and four are Ap Kubi which means long step with the knee flexed to two quarters, which does not exceed the shoulder width (as a reference) and straight back leg.


    • Sequences: 18
    • Movements: 20


    What would be the sequence scheme?

    Every poomsae begins and ends with the greeting with the aim of transmitting respect through a bow that consists in tilting the trunk and head, sliding the hands along the thigh and keeping the eyes on the feet for a few seconds. It starts in Chumbi which refers to a position of attention before starting with the sequences and movements of the poomsae.

    • Sequence 1 (Ap Sogui – Are Maki): also known as defense below. Which is divided into several parts, one of them is the beginning and to be able to do it you must take one of the arms to the opposite shoulder, for this you have to turn the hip at the moment when the arm is carried to the opposite shoulder ( the base of the hand will touch said shoulder without applying force) and another arm is slightly bent. Then, the path is carried out maintaining the same arm shape while the flexing stays in the same way. Finally, in the execution part you must say that the force of the arm that goes to the hip against the force that is making the defense is exactly the same. You must take into account that the elbow must be close to the body, an aspect that guarantees the distance between the leg and the arm is correct.
    • Sequence 2 (Ap Sogui – Montong bande jirugui): represents the regular average hit. Which consists of moving forward one step and taking a blow to the front in the direction of the middle part of the body.
    • Sequence 3 (Ap sogui – Are Maki): You must turn backwards and execute this step. Remember that all turns are made supporting the front part of the foot.
    • Sequence 4 (Ap sogui – Montong Bande Jirugui): you must do it moving forward.
    • Sequence 5 (Ap kubi sogui – are maki): Moving the left foot to the center facing forward.
    • Sequence 6 (Ap kubi sogui – Montong Baro Jirugui): without advancing. This punch is quite basic since, it is the same as Montong Bande Jirugui with the only difference that the opposite arm is used to the forward leg. This movement does not usually have as much force as the other, however as for the attack it must be just as accurate. The important thing about this step is that the opponent would not be expected to be hit with the other hand, aspect that is extremely useful in competitions.
    • Sequence 7 (Ap sogui – Montong an maki): to the right, moving the right foot. It fulfills the function of protecting the chest. The path of the left arm begins with the elbow somewhat flexed from the back until it is carried and extended slightly to the top of the trunk.
    • Sequence 8 (Ap sogui – Montong baro jirugui): which consists of performing a medium cross stroke. You must strike with your hand using the arm on the opposite side of the right foot.
    • Sequence 9 (Ap sogui – Montong an maki): this sequence will be used to go back and proceed to execute the next one.
    • Sequence 10 (Ap sogui – Montong baro jirugui): be will repeat the step already mentioned in sequence number 8).
    • Sequence 11 (Ap kubi sogui – Are maki): turning the body with the right foot should carry out this sequence forward. Remember that the step must be long, the leg must be forward with the knee bent and the leg that is behind must be straight.
    • Sequence 12 (Ap kubi sogui – Montong baro jirugui): as in sequence 6).
    • Sequence 13 (Ap sogui – Olgul maki): Turn and move forward moving the left foot. «Olgul maki» means defense to the face whereby the arm must be raised to face height.
    • Sequence 14 (Ap chagui): move forward with a front kick. Followed by an Ap sogui – Montong bande jirugui.
    • Sequence 15 (Ap sogui – Olgul maki): you must turn back with your right foot and during it execute the sequence.
    • Sequence 16 (Ap chagui): this sequence must be executed followed by Ap sogui – Montong bande jirugui.
    • Sequence 17 (Ap kubi sogui – Are maki): turn the body with the left foot.
    • Sequence 18 (Ap kubi sogui – Montong bande jirugui – KIAP): finally, successively, one must move forward in a long position and make the scream reproducing the sound as if it were a melee, and thus determine security.


    Description of the positions of Taekwondo Sogui




    Finally, the recommendation is that, in order to strengthen the practical knowledge of these sequences and movements, it is necessary to devote yourself to the observation of instructional videos as well as, if you belong to a Taekwondo School, do not hesitate to seek advice with the teacher or advanced classmates to be able to perfect the technique.

    This first poomsae has a degree of importance because it guarantees the learning of defense techniques and essential attacks.



    The Taeguk Poomsaes

    1. TAEGUK IL CHANG: Light and sky. Greatness
    2. TAEGUK I CHANG: Joy and serenity.
    3. TAEGUK SAM CHANG: Fire and sun.
    4. TAEGUK SAH CHANG: Thunder. Courage
    5. TAEGUK OH CHANG: Represents Wind. Flexibility.
    6. TAEGUK YOUK CHANG: Represents Water. Fluency
    7. TAEGUK CHILK CHANG: Represents Summit and mountain. Balance
    8. TAEGUK PAL CHANG: Represents Origin of life. Yin and Earth.


    👉🏼👉🏼 Share this 💚💚🙏🏻🙏🏻:

    Por admin

    Deja una respuesta

    Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *